Projekttitel

GERMAN FEDERATION for the CURATION of BIOLOGICAL DATA (GFBio)

Projektziele

Das Projekt GFBio ist der Zusammenschluss der Hauptakteure aus den Bereichen der Archivierung und Bereitstellung umweltbezogener biologischer Daten in Deutschland. Es läuft seit 2015 in der zweiten Förderphase. Umweltforschung und Biologie stehen vor großen Herausforderungen, die das Ökosystem und die Klimadynamik unseres Planeten betreffen. Um der Größenordnung und Komplexität der zu lösenden Probleme gerecht zu werden, muss vor allem im Bereich des Wissensaustausches stärker zusammengearbeitet werden. Allerdings sind heute biologische Informationen weit verstreut und schwer auffindbar, was ein abgestimmtes Vorgehen zur Verbesserung des Zugangs zu wissenschaftlichen Daten und deren Bewahrung erfordert.

Zielsetzung des Projekts GFBio ist die Vereinheitlichung der nationalen Datenlandschaft im Umfeld biologischer Forschungsfelder durch die Schaffung einer nachhaltigen, serviceorientierten, Dateninfrastruktur für Wissenschaftler als Grundlage für datenintensive Anwendungen im Bereich der Biologie und Umweltwissenschaften. Diese Forschungsplattform baut auf bewährten Datenarchivierungsinfrastrukturen und -abläufen auf, wie PANGAEA für Umweltdaten und integriert Ressourcen der wichtigsten deutschen naturwissenschaftlichen Sammlungen.

Die gemeinsame Infrastruktur berücksichtigt die Datenmanagement-Bedürfnisse einer Vielzahl von Interessensgruppen, einschließlich einzelner Wissenschaftler, naturwissenschaftlicher Sammlungen sowie großer Wissenschaftsnetzwerke. Sie wird in der Lage sein, hoch interdisziplinäre, heterogene Daten zu verwalten. Besondere Berücksichtigung finden Genom-, Umwelt- und Ökologiedaten sowie sammlungsbezogene Daten.

Rolle der GWDG

Die GWDG kümmert sich in diesem Projekt speziell um

  • die Portlet Implementation für Datenmanagementpläne
  • das Datenstruktur-Mapping für die betrachteten Metadaten-Austauschformate
  • die Programmierschnitstellen für den Terminology-Service und die Datentransferprotokolle.

Projektförderung

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft. Förderkennzeichen: YA 191/4-1 und YA 191/4-2.

Projektpartner

GFBio ist ein multidisziplinäres Konsortium, an dem neben der GWDG namhafte, wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen aus Deutschland beteiligt sind.

Die Projektkoordination obliegt dem Center for Marine Environmental Sciences (MARUM), Bremen.

 

 

 

Kontakt

Dr. Ulrich Schwardmann

Laufzeit

01.12.2013 - 31.08.2018

Internet

Website GFBio

GFBio

Cookies and Tracking help us to give you a better experience on our website.

Project Titel

GERMAN FEDERATION for the CURATION of BIOLOGICAL DATA (GFBio)

Project Goals

The project is a joined cooperation of the key players providing environmentally related biological data and services in Germany. Environmental and biological research challenges related to the Earth's ecosystems and climate dynamics is one of the global societal challenges. It runs in the second funding phase since 2015. The importance and the complexity of the problems to be solved demands increased collaboration and knowledge exchange. Biological data are currently distributed over many media in inconsistently formats. So it is not easy to share them. Therefore a coherent infrastructure to improve scientific data integration and preservation is indispensable.

The main goal of the GFBio project is the unification of the national data landscape of the biological research areas. A sustainable service oriented data infrastructure in the fields of biology and environmental sciences as basement for data intensive applications is going to develop. This research platform rests established storage infrastructures and procedures like PANGAEA for environmental data and integrates resources of the most important German natural sciences collections.

The common data infrastructure contains highly interdisciplinary heterogeneous data because of the very different needs of the users. The platform regards requirements of single researchers as well as those of natural sciences collections or big scientific networks. The application will be able to manage highly heterogeneous and interdisciplinary data. Particular attention will be given to genome, environmental, and ecological data and also to collections.

GWDG's Role in the Project

The GWDG cares especially for

  • the portlet implementation for data management plans
  • the data structure mapping for metadata exchange formats
  • the APIs (application progamming interfaces) for terminology services and data transfer protocols.

Project Funding

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft DFG, (German Research Foundation). Grant-No: YA 191/4-1.

Project Partners

GFBio is an interdisciplinary consortium. By the side of the GWDG well-known German scientific institutions are working on the project.

Center for Marine Environmental Sciences (MARUM), Bremen coordinates the GFBio project.

 

 

 

Contact

Dr. Ulrich Schwardmann
Dr. Sven Bingert

Duration

01.08.2018 - 31.07.2021

Internet

Website GFBio